The other Andrew Sabol

When I started researching my great-grandfather Andrew Sabol through census records, I kept tripping over another man with the same name, living in the same town and roughly the same age. To make things even more complicated, both men married women with the same last name. My Andrew married Maria (Mary) Daniel. The other guy married Elizabeth Daniel.

The 1930 census shows the two Andrews living a few blocks apart in Raritan, New Jersey. My great-grandfather’s family lived at 37 Frelinghuysen Avenue. Andrew worked as a laborer for a steam railroad and Mary was a homemaker. The couple rented one or more rooms in a house owned by Alexander and Mary Sipsky, immigrants from Czechoslovakia. By this time, my grandmother Anna Sabol was married and living elsewhere, but her three youngest siblings – Hermina, Stephan and Ruth – were still at home.

Andrew and Elizabeth Sabol lived at 34 Thompson Street with their nine children. Andrew owned a grocery store and seems to have made a decent living from that since the family owned a home valued at $7,000.

Later on, when I located my great-grandparents’ October 1896 marriage record, I saw that one of the witnesses was Andrew Sabol Jr. Was this the same guy? And did this suggest that the two men were related?

So I went back to find a marriage record for Andrew and Elizabeth Sabol. It turns out they were married a couple of years later, in June 1898, in the same church as my great-grandparents. One of the witnesses to the ceremony, Michael Tkacik, was also a witness to my great-grandparents’ wedding.

From that record, I also learned that Andrew’s parents were Andr. Sabol and Dorotha Filak (the same maiden name as my great-great-grandmother). Elizabeth’s parents were Andr. and Lizzie Daniel (my great-great-grandfather was also Andrej Daniel). So what was the deal?

I turned to records from Evangelical Lutheran Church from Obišovce, Slovakia, available online from the Family History Center, which allowed me to finally solve the mystery. The two Andrews were cousins!

The other Andrew Sabol was born in Trebejov on December 31, 1873, a year and a half after my great-grandfather. His father, also named Andrej Sabol, was the younger brother of my great-great-grandfather Jan Sabol. And the two families lived in neighboring houses, Trebejov 10 and 11.

This entry was posted in Family Line - Sabol, New Jersey, Slovakia and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to The other Andrew Sabol

  1. Pingback: My Sabol ancestors in the 1869 Magyar Census | John Kowal's Family History Blog

  2. Pingback: Answers to old questions at the New Cemetery | John Kowal's Family History Blog

  3. kjsabol says:

    John, my great-grandfather, Michael Tkacik, was the witness to the wedding of Andrew and Elizabeth Sabol. My father, John (nee Jan) Sabol, Jr., also married a Tkacik, Anna (granddaughter of Michael), born in Trebejov in 1912, emigrated 1920, married in 1946, after my father returned from WWII.

    • johnkowal says:

      Ken, I am also eager to learn more about Michael Tkacik, who was the witness at my great-grandparents’ wedding too. I have noticed, when looking through the records of my Polish and Slovak immigrant ancestors, that there tended to be one member of the family or community who played the pater familias role – frequently used as a witness on wedding records or naturalization records, leading member of the community, etc. Interesting.
      You know we also have other Tkacik roots, starting with our ancestor Michal Sabol (1809-1870) who married an Anna Tkacik (1806-1873). Their sons Andrej and Jan were our respective immigrant ancestors.

  4. Pingback: Keeping track of the Sabols of Raritan, N.J. | John Kowal's Family History Blog

  5. Michele Farias says:

    Thank you for giving me so much information on my grandfather , Andrew Sabol “the other Sabol” – only wish I had this information years ago so that I could have taken my mother (Louise D. Sabol – Huber) back to her home country. When my grandfather came to America he worked in the Raritan Woolen Mills as a weaver and bookkeeper and he also was a clerk and bookkeeper in the grocery and general store of Andrew Hazlin – which he purchased in 1907 and had until his retirement in 1947 when his son took over as a liquor store – address was 34 Thompson Street, Raritan – he lived there with his wife Elizabeth Daniel and their 10 children – Mary, Andrew, Emil Paul, Verna , Pauline, Louise, Elizabeth, Margaret and Emma.
    My grand father was the last living survivor of the original founders of the Slovak Lutheran Church in Raritan, set 1947 (still in use today) He also served as secretary of teh National slovak Society for 30 years.He was one of the original members of the Board of Directors of the Raritan State Bank in 1926. He also served on the Board of Directors of the Raritan Building and Loan Association.He served as a commissioner in the town of Raritan before it became a borough.
    He is buried with is wife and his daughter, Louise (my mother) in the New Cemetery Somerville.

    With your information from his birth town, I will gather more information and would like to take a trip to Trebejov this spring or early fall – I just wanted to thank you for all the research that you have done – very impressive – I believe that you and I have “talked” before about our grand fathers – thank you , again – Michele Farias

    • johnkowal says:

      Hi Michele,
      Thanks for your kind words. I have enjoyed meeting folks like you on this blog. We are relatives, after all, descending from Michal Sabol (1809-1870) and Anna Tkacik (1806-1873) who lived in Trebejov in the house at Trebejov 11.
      If you plan to go to Trebejov, feel free to contact me so I can offer you advice on the best way to do it. I can also warn you about an error I made (and I should correct this in my blog). I misread the old map of Trebejov and identified the wrong house as Trebejov 11. I can show you where the real house should be. Maybe you can take a photo for me.
      Also, if you have photos of “your” Andrew Sabol and his wife, I’d love to see them. I do not have any photos of “my” Andrew Sabol.
      Thanks. Please feel free to contact me at johnkowal@mac.com.
      John

      • michele farias says:

        Hi John – great to hear from you – I will get some photos together and forward them to you – I have some group pictures of men, my grandfather being in the group, but I don’t know the rest – maybe your grandfather, great-grandfather in in them – I will also get back to you about my trip – would like to go towards the end of this September and would appreciate any and all advice on traveling in that area – and also if you know of any “relatives” still in that area – I also believe that my grandmother, Elizabeth Daniel Sabol came from that same area, although I can’t find any information from my family – she died when my mom was young and I can’t find any records concerning her death, the only thing I do know is that my mom always told me that the Dr. told her that her body was just too weak from giving birth to 10 children —–don’t know if that’s true or “fable” – so I am going to try and do some research on Elizabeth Daniel – but I have to say I am so impressed by your research – quite impressive !!! and thank you for sharing it – one thing that you have made me question – is our heritage – on all the old documents that I have, it says the place of birth for both my grand father (Andrew Sabol) and my grand mother (Elizabeth Daniel) is Czech – but looking at the dates they would be born, they would have been hungarian? do you know anything about that – just strange that they put down Czech —has me curious ——again, thank you – Michele Farias 206 W 58th Street Brant Beach, New Jersey 08008 609-494-7830

        Date: Sat, 31 Jan 2015 22:24:25 +0000 To: sunnymichele@hotmail.com

Leave a Reply

